Cheeky

I had a request from a teacher this morning to increase her quota on the storage server as she had hit her limit, resulting in problems with saving new documents.

Our standard procedure when this happens is to have a quick check over what is taking up all the space to see if there is redundant data that could be removed. I found that more than half her quota was being used by a set of photos and videos from the previous year, and suggested a clear-out would solve the problem.

I then got a message in return:

“Ok, but I have a 5 period day today. Can you do anything to help very short term?”

I suggested that I could delete some of the nearly 400MB of MP3s in her ‘My Music’ folder, and assumed she would get the hint. Imagine my surprise when I instead received this utterly serious reply:

“No I need them for the school musical.”

Oh yes. Yes, I’m sure you need Shakira for the school musical. Request denied.

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

One response to “Cheeky”

  1. Chris Thomas says :

    It amazes me how little teachers know, or refuse to aknowledge, when it comes to copyright. You should ask her where she’s stored all the permissions she’s been given to use the tracks in a musical!

Share your Anger

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,750 other followers