Dear Arrogant Sales Staff

There are no circumstances under which you will ever be important enough for me to talk to during the first week of term.

My new rule is that any unsolicited sales calls received during the first week of term will earn your company automatic entry onto my supplier blacklist. I know that you must think this week would be a good time to get yourself noticed at a time when we might be starting new projects, but you are utterly wrong. Here’s why:

  1. The first week of term is always, ALWAYS extremely busy.
  2. I did all my projects over the summer. An increasing number of school technical staff work during the break. You are therefore 3 months late – and an idiot.
  3. Even if I were starting projects now, there is no way I would be risking taking on a new supplier during the first week of term, due to #1.

That you do not realise these things betrays a distinct lack of understanding about your market. That does not inspire confidence. Just consider yourself lucky that you don’t have my direct line, and that you instead have to go through the switchboard, where the school’s extremely patient office staff have been screening your calls so that I don’t tell you to stick your sales call where the sun does not shine.

Love and kisses,
AngryTechnician

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

One response to “Dear Arrogant Sales Staff”

  1. ajt says :

    I have a policy, which my office backs me up on, that anyone who calls the school that is not a parent or teacher from another school is therefore a sales person. If they are not calling my mobile, then they are unsolicited, therefore they get told to go away.

    I don’t get calls any more, except from people I have asked to contact me. It’s lovely.

Share your Anger

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,764 other followers