Disguise

I hate seeing things like this:

When I see a blanking plate in the middle of a bunch of other faceplates, I don’t think “what a neat job they’ve done.” I think “what have those sons of Hades hidden behind that?”

I tend to ignore it unless I happen to be passing with a screwdriver. Then, one day, curiosity will get the better of me.

At which point, I will find something like this, and promptly suffer a brain aneurysm.

As you may have deduced from the outstanding labelling used by the installer, I have no idea where this cable goes.

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

8 responses to “Disguise”

  1. ICT_Tech says :

    That is just ridiculous!

    P.S. Did you manage to get Android 2.2 on your streak or was that even 2.1?!?

    I’m running the HTC Desire HD with 2.2 and I’m fairly impressed :-D

    • AngryTechnician says :

      Dell actually scrapped the 2.1 update entirely as the initial release of it had major flaws. They are pushing ahead with 2.2 which has been promised by the end of the year.

      • ICT_Tech says :

        How RUDE!

        Hopefully 2.2 will have less major flaws, my first impressions of it were that it seemed pretty stable but I only had it for 3 days testing. That was enough to know that I want it though :-)

  2. p858snake says :

    “As you may have deduced from the outstanding labelling used by the installer, I have no idea where this cable goes. ”

    Sounds like it is time for my favorite game: Unplug and see what breaks.

  3. korifugi says :

    Unplug it, then deny all knowledge and wait for the company that performed this tragedy to appear – then ‘help’ them find the fault…

    Then demonstrate to them why you are known as the angry technician :-)

  4. ScottishTech says :

    Sweet Crimminy!

    That is an absolute abomination.

    If it was a recent installation, I would most assuredly be getting the company back in after speaking to the man in charge of paying the bills to withhold payment until whichever amoeba responsible squidged back and sorted it out.

    I may not be AngryTechnician, but I can certainly be GrumpyPainInTheArseTechnician.

    I do so enjoy seeing some of these Promethean installations – I too have seen the beauty that is 20 cable ties holding speakers and cables onto heating pipes.

    there’s also the “missed opportunity” ones such as not running 2 VGA cables up to the projector in the main conference suite – so forcing the school to buy a monkey-proof KVM to stop every mouth-breathing presenter simply unhooking every cable he/she can get their slimy mitts on to hook up their own laptop.

    My favourite however was when the installation company installed several ceiling mounted projectors onto false ceiling tiles. As in, the polystyrene false celing tiles were all that were holding up the projector. Good one, that.

  5. Lancashire Tech says :

    Equally annoying is the Amp on the left! Im a little OCD when it comes to cables and ive installed a few of those in the past, and I know full well that there is an internal connector for the audio jack, Why they didnt cut the head off and connect it internally for a neater job is beyond me.

  6. FobbedOff says :

    At least the sockets are lined up and there’s only the one cable on view. I think some of our sockets and cabling were put up by numpty’s trying to write rude words on the walls using the plastic trunking.

    “Try fitting an interactive whiteboard on that wall now Mr IT Technician!”