PEBKAC

PEBKAC is an acronym that stands for ‘Problem Exists Between Keyboard And Chair’, and is pronounced ‘pebb-cack’. It is used in private communications between technicians to succinctly explain what we believe is the root cause of a user’s issue.

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

4 responses to “PEBKAC”

  1. Anonymous says :

    Now I know what I’ve been all my life…

  2. Stephen Keep says :

    I like PICNIC – Problem In Chair Not In Computer

  3. Angry Technician says :

    Nice – I’ll have to remember that to use on the people who’ve read this blog and now know my secret.

    Oh… wait.

    Bugger.

  4. kev says :

    Further to picnics, I find many many problems are due to “Computer User Not Thinking Syndrome”. Theres certainly a huge number of them about, and unfortunatelty i encounter quite a lot of them every day…