How to be a Favourite – #4: Attend the training

You probably all know someone who seems to get the things they ask for from IT more quickly than you. Chances are, they are a Favourite. Welcome to the next instalment in learning how you too can attain this elusive property.

4. Attend the training

We find it very frustrating when you raise a ticket to ask us how to do something that we covered in the training course two weeks ago. You know, the one you didn’t bother to sign up for because you’re a work-shy scumbag who wanted to go home early instead.

This isn’t about you snubbing our training session. What that says to us is that you don’t care to learn. That you can’t be bothered to take time out of your day to be better at your job.

Personally, as someone who actually tries hard at what I do, I find that attitude offensive. Don’t be too surprised if taking the time to help you becomes a low priority for me.

Now, if someone who did attend the training raises that same ticket, I will have no problem helping them. I get that IT skills do not come easily to everyone. The fact that you’ve tried actually counts for more with me than whether you can do it or not.

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

2 responses to “How to be a Favourite – #4: Attend the training”

  1. Duncan Ricks AKA FatBoy says :

    Hi AngryTechnician,

    I saw the link to your blog via EduGeek and have had a read of a few of your posts or this lazy Monday afternoon :0p Great blog I must say that has struck several cords with me being a IT tech for a school. I love the how to become a Favorite posts and wish are staff here would read them. As I do training as well as fix the equipment this post did make me laugh.

    Just wanted to let you know you have brighten up my afternoon and I have enjoyed reading your stuff. Cheers
    FB

  2. Angry Technician says :

    Glad you’re enjoying it!

    By way of follow-up to this, it’s worth noting that my favourite retort to the old chestnut of “Oh, well why didn’t you tell me that sooner?” is “Well, if you’d come to the training last month…”

    Used it on MrsRobinson earlier today, and she almost knocked me off my chair, but I’m too fast for her.