Excellence

Today I had to show a teacher how to make Excel subtract a value in column C from one in column D, and store the result in column E.

I’m not kidding.

I asked Pendragon at what age children learn this stuff in this day and age. He told me that in a primary school with good IT provision, he would expect them to learn it around age 7-8, otherwise they would learn it at age 11 when they got to secondary school.

He agreed that there was no excuse for any qualified teacher not to know how to do this. Frankly, I don’t think any white-collar worker should expect to be gainfully employed without knowing how to do this. This is not the 1980s. If you don’t know how to use a computer by now, it should be painfully obvious that it’s time to take some lessons.

Especially if you’re only in your 30s…

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

2 responses to “Excellence”

  1. Chris Eubank says :

    So how DO you do it then?

  2. Angry Technician says :

    Oh, it’s easy, you just open up Clippy (that annoying talking paperclip) and type in “Do my job for me.”