Yes, you really did break it

Very little physical damage to computers “just happens”.

The only examples of damage I can think of that occur due to ‘normal’ use is letters wearing off of keyboards, laptop hinges breaking, and power sockets coming loose. Those last two only happen on some laptops (usually particular models). Even these are hard to get repaired under the manufacturer’s warranty, unless you opted for accidental damage cover.

Recently I’ve seen quite a few people bring me laptops with physical damage that doesn’t fall anywhere near these categories. Shattered LCD displays, cracked cases, broken headphone sockets, and the like. In every case, the user claims it “just happened”, and are confused as to why this wouldn’t be a free repair by the manufacturer, and act even more confused that I don’t buy their mysterious ‘explanation’.

Look, here’s the deal. When I say “it didn’t just happen”, I’m not saying you’re lying.

I’m saying you’re a klutz.

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.