The payoff

You know that the time spent teaching users why their problem occurred is starting to pay dividends when they are able to fix new problems on their own.

However, the real payoff comes when you find out that they are helping other people solve their problems.

Princess gleefully told me how she’d recently stopped one of our Finance team from calling IT and solved the problem herself instead. You’ve never seen anyone so happy. I feigned indifference – or at best mild approval, I do have a reputation to maintain, after all – but I was happy too. Why? Because it’s less work for me, that’s why.

I’m sure I should be happy that people are learning, but I think I’ve become too much of a cynical bastard recently.

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.