Not my job

Users come in many different and overlapping types; one of the distinctions that can be drawn is their reaction to trivial problems. These can be divided into two groups.

One group, when you turn up and find that the problem was due to the power cable not being plugged in properly, will be extremely embarrassed that they called for a technician for help with something so simple.

The other group, when you turn up and find that the problem was due to the power cable not being plugged in properly, will respond with disgust that they should even possibly have to think about checking that cables are plugged in properly – even when the technician has given no indication (verbal or otherwise) that this was expected.

Guess which group I actually have respect for?

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

One response to “Not my job”

  1. Gi says :

    Ummmm…

    Errmmmm….

    Yeah, this really annoys me too.

    “What?!?! You didn’t tell me I had to type in my password CORRECTLY!”

    Grr.