“What have you broken?”

If you walk into my office carrying a laptop, there is a high probability that this question will greet you. It’s rare that someone comes into my office holding a laptop that has nothing wrong with it. The probability may be increased or decreased depending on how gingerly you are holding said laptop, and how long it’s been since you cared to talk to me about something that wasn’t a computer you’d broken.

Some people will say they know someone who is a “fair-weather friend”. I often feel like I have many foul-weather friends; people who only come to see me when something has gone terribly wrong. There are certain members of staff who normally won’t bother to even say hello to me as they pass, but when they bluster into my office with their poor, decrepit laptop that has finally given up after months of abuse at their hands, they act as if we’re really good friends.

I’ll confess I used to be fooled by this. That I’ve learned to recognise it is down to an increase in either my experience or my cynicism; either way, it’s still incredibly depressing to be on the receiving end.

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.