Dear staff laptop users

I’m here to help. Really, I am. It’s my job. I even get paid for it.

So, when you have a problem with your school laptop overnight, please stop asking your son/husband/friend/dog to fix it for you.

I am an experienced professional who knows the school computer systems inside out. Even if your benevolent home technician is very good with computers (and often they are, I’ve met some really clever dogs in my time), they will not know the intricacies of the system and the consequences of the things they are modifying.

You often ask me why I block you from changing so many settings on ‘your’ laptop. The fact is that even with almost everything locked down, you’ve still walked into my office this morning with the laptop the school loans to you because your ‘friend’ has broken it. Imagine how much worse it would be if you had the administrator rights you keep asking for.

If you have a problem, bring it to me. Even if you ignore me at first, you’re going to have to see me anyway once the problem is made worse, so let’s just cut out this middle step, shall we?

Love and kisses,
AngryTechnician

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

One response to “Dear staff laptop users”

  1. joe90bass says :

    So true! I had a member of staff who’d been off ill for a while complain he couldn’t get on the school wireless network with his school laptop upon his return. Surprise surprise he’d been trying to get on his home network with the laptop With some (albeit limited) success. This is despite me enforcing as many policies as possible to try and stop it. He wouldn’t have got far with getting on the Internet anyway, had he connected to his wireless network, as it would have been looking for our proxy anyway ;-) minor detail……………

Share your Anger

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,639 other followers