All in your head

A little while back I helped out a user whose laptop problem had allegedly started right after Overshare and Bond last worked on it. It should have been a fairly simple problem to solve, but when I explained the steps needed to fix it, the user told me she had already had the same instructions from Overshare, and had tried them several times without success.

Neither of them were around at the time for me to ask about what the previous problem was and how they’d fixed it, so I told the user I’d get back to her once I knew more about what had been done during the “several hours” work that had apparently gone on.

When I finally tracked down Bond, he explained:

“Oh yeah, we actually did nothing with it because we were short on time, and were pretty sure nothing was actually wrong with it.”

They were right, because the problem it had come in for had not occurred since. This also blew the user’s theory over our last maintenance causing the problem, but I couldn’t exactly admit we’d fed her a placebo last time, even if it had been 100% effective. So, off I went to find out what the problem was this time.

The short story? I think you can guess where this is going.

I arrived, tried the exact steps that had been relayed before, and it worked first time. Just like last time, the problem hasn’t occurred since.

Sometimes, the problem is not with the computer. Sometimes it’s in the chair, and sometimes, it’s only in the user’s head.

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.