Now easier than ever

One of the selling points of a new version of any software is almost always that it’s easier to use than the last version. Software designers are always coming up with ways to make their product easier to use.

However, this also often means it’s easier to break.

Recently, a teacher came to me complaining that Word documents were not opening correctly for her. It turned out she had managed to alter the settings on her laptop so that Word documents opened not using Microsoft Word, but using Microsoft Paint.

“Oh, well I just wanted to see if it would open in Paint,” she confessed when I broke the news, “I didn’t realise it would be permanent!” I didn’t ask why she wanted to open a Word document in Paint, since I have learned in my line of work that one should never question the wisdom of a lunatic.

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.