Personal Development

We have a mandatory annual program of ‘personal development’ at my school. Each year we review our goals from last year and set new ones.

This is all well and good apart from the fact that it is a total farce when it comes to the supposed benefits to the employee. The budget for training is pitifully small, and management have made it abundantly clear that there is no opportunity for progression for non-teaching staff. We aren’t being developed. We’re doing this to make sure the school keeps its precious Investors In People status.

The infamous school training days are largely a waste of time for us, because most of the training is completely irrelevant if you are not a teacher. I’ve offered to provide IT training for non-teaching staff when there’s important training for the teachers, but it usually gets bumped in favour of frog-marching us into a theatre to listen to some utterly mindless drivel about the minutiae of some distant improvement plan we care nothing about.

Then there is also the fact that, despite the annual paperwork being so rigidly enforced, no-one ever reads it. This year I agreed with LadiesMan that one of his goals for the year would be to learn to tie his shoelaces. It was signed off without anyone batting an eyelid. The first time I did my paperwork I wrote a rant about how my daily routine involved continual training in order to keep my skills current, in stark contrast to being forced to attend an overpriced course twice a year in order to tick a box and pretending that counted as development. Senior management signed it off without a whisper.

Last year, I agreed with my Bond that one of my goals for the year would be to learn to manage my anger more effectively. How do you think I’m doing?

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

2 responses to “Personal Development”

  1. Anonymous says :

    You mentioned ‘Anger Management’

    I once asked somebody during a job interview what they felt their next development need was. Guess the answer.

    Didn’t get the job.

  2. AngryTechnician says :

    In case it wasn’t obvious, this blog is how I deal with a lot of my frustration with my job. I’ve been a lot calmer at work since now when something annoying happens, I simply smile and think “That’s today’s blog post sorted.”