Rubbing it in

Quote from an email I got on Friday evening:

“My home computer has stopped working – it won’t boot into windows and I think the hard drive has probably gone… Can I bring the machine in on Thursday morning during Half Term (I am away from Sun to Wed)?”

So let me get this straight. Not only do you want me to have a go at fixing your home computer, but you also feel the need to rub in the fact that we’re in work while you’re spending your half term on holiday until Thursday?

OK, just wanted to get that straight.

No, really. I’m not saying I won’t do it. Why? Because you also said this:

“Many Thanks – there will be alcoholic related rewards for success….”

…and all was forgiven. To think they say teachers never learn!

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

5 responses to “Rubbing it in”

  1. mr smith says :

    That is legendary. NOTHING changes!

    But yes, if the alcoholic reward is of sufficient quality, I’d frankly do it.

    Normally I don’t enjoy mending things that are out of warranty, however there’s something cathartic about doing it when the person knows you really are the only person they know who could fix it, and is happy to pay wine.

  2. Matthew Hughes says :

    I will push them in the direction of my out of work business and inform them i charge £40 for the pleasure.

    This is usually followed with a grunt to which i reply

    “take it to PC world, they will charge you more and do half the job”

    Alcohol? A £5 4 pack just wont cut it for me personally.

  3. AngryTechnician says :

    Wine is the favoured beverage at my school. If it’s for me, I normally actually request they hold off on the alcohol and substitute chocolate instead as I don’t drink very much.

    If nothing else, these little diversions are always an interesting training exercise. The sorts of problems people get on their own machines are the sorts one sees more rarely in a managed network environment, since we make it a lot harder for people to fuck up the school machines. It’s always good to keep one’s eye in.

    It should also be noted that the level of service provided varies greatly depending on whether the patron in question is a favourite or not…

  4. Matthew Hughes says :

    Yeah i know what you mean, i have only been here since september and so i don’t have many “favourites” yet, although i did spend a little time sorting out someones Nintendo DS for them and was rewarded with chocolate :)

  5. Budgester says :

    I find teachers requesting help with there home PC’s really annoying, and refuse to do it now.

    I mean I wouldn’t expect to bring my car into work and get the Tech teachers to fix it, nor would I expect a teacher to come to my house and give free tution for my children while they are supposed to be teaching.

    My charge outside of my contracted school work is £50 an hour and I let them know it could take anywhere between 2 an 8 hours to fix the PC, plus parts.