Please do not feed the printers

Another joyous day of tickets today, though at least today’s made sense:

“My printer is printing with a black line down one side. Please can someone take a look at it?”

I’ll be honest, this sort of ticket is not my highest priority during the day, so it was a few hours later, and after a particularly tasty lunch, that I went off to investigate the problem. Little did I know that the problem itself would be food-related.

When I arrived, I went straight for the innards of the printer. Lines on pages are usually caused by something on one of the rollers, so I pulled the toner cartridge out and opened it up. Sure enough, I could see inside it a small, crumpled piece of plastic stuck to the roller, surrounded by clumps of toner.

A quick trip back to my office to retrieve some tweezers, and the culprit was soon revealed.

It was a sticker from a Golden Delicious apple.

I returned to the user’s office and enquired as to whether she liked apples. Clearly her printer loves them, though they do give it indigestion.

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.