Not my job #2

I’ve talked before about the ‘not my job‘ effect and how it annoys me.

I try to avoid this approach whenever I can. If someone calls me for something that is technical related, even if it’s not my area of responsibility, I will try and help out. There are only two exceptions to this:

  1. if by doing so I would be stepping on the toes of someone else in the school who is better qualified to deal with the problem, or
  2. if the person who actually has responsibility for it is a lazy retard who we’ve been picking up the slack from the entire time I’ve worked here.

I don’t like abandoning problems that (with some effort) I could probably fix, even though it’s not my job to fix them. However, sooner or later, management have got to understand that there are people in the school who routinely fail to fulfil their job role, either through laziness, incompetence, or both.

Most of all, I’m tired of people who act like this and are a) still employed, and b) paid more than I am. Despite all the annoyances of my job I still have the decency to try and do it well, so when others can’t even be bothered with that, I don’t see why I should be covering for them. I’m not alone in this opinion. There are a lot of staff in the school who feel the same way, and right now there is a chronic morale problem brewing that stems from the fact that the few useless muppets on the staff are permitted to remain in post.

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

2 responses to “Not my job #2”

  1. viktoryian says :

    Oh, I know very many people around the world, who feel just the same way about this problem. Actually for many years I had to deal with it too. So I fought for my rights and of course was not always the favourite person in the community. Unfortunatly the “lazy fucking bastard” get the best jobs through their contacs and use there “power” to make other people do their job :(.

  2. Andy Mousse says :

    Interestingly enough i used to be one of those lazy bastards, mainly because i was young and more interested in going to clubs etc, my ability helped through this time as when i did work i knew what i was doing more then most.

    I never thought anyone other then my boss had a problem with this however, now the shoe is on the other foot and i realise that actually, there must have been a few people pissed off with my lazyness as i am now, with a member of my department.

    Karma sure does have a way of catching up with you haha.
    Fortunately i am paid more then the lazy person but it still annoys the shit out of me when i have to do his job.