Please engage brain before printing

I get a call from one of the IT labs.

“I sent a document to print but it hasn’t come out yet.”

Sounds pretty unlikely to me, though not impossible.

“Which printer?” I ask.

“The black & white one in lab 2.”

I check the print queue. It’s empty. The printer is reporting ‘Ready’. I fire up our print reporting system and get him to tell me his username so I can check the logs of everything he’s printed.

“Was it a Word document?” I ask, merely confirming the answer I already have in front of me.

“Yes.”

“Was it 14 pages?”

“Yes.”

“You sent it to the printer in lab 4 by mistake.” It could be worse. At least he didn’t press print another 5 times before calling.

“Ah,” he replies, “shall I just send it again then?”

I close my eyes and pray that when I open them a new button will have appeared on my phone that allows me to send an electric shock to the caller on the other end.

My prayers go unanswered.

“Nooooo… you should go to lab 4 and collect the 14 pages you’ve just printed out.”

“Oh yeah,” he agrees, “good idea.”

I’m full of good ideas, I am.

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

6 responses to “Please engage brain before printing”

  1. Federico says :

    Pure genius.

  2. p858snake says :

    But did you check the logs again later to see if he actually went and collected it again or just printed another copy?

  3. Giles says :

    No matter how many times I’ve prayed for that button it’s never appeared. I’m beginning to doubt the existence of IT-God. :)

  4. AngryTechnician says :

    Never lose hope, Giles. We have to keep the dream alive!

  5. Karl says :

    Heh.

    “Where’s my printing?”

    “When did you print it?”

    “Last week..”

    “Ah. Binned then, we’re not a storage facility for unwanted crap.”

    “Fine, I’ll reprint it”.

    Do I care? No, as they get billed per page regardless of if they picked it up or not. That’ll do nicely…

  6. roach says :

    “I close my eyes and pray that when I open them a new button will have appeared on my phone that allows me to send an electric shock to the caller on the other end.”

    Just great! You made my day! :-)