Not how I left it

Today was particularly rammed, not least because LadiesMan is on holiday (seeing a lady) and Overshare emailed in at 8am with slightly more detail than was necessary about the illness that is keeping him off work today.

I was therefore not especially thrilled to receive a ticket informing me that a printer in the Science department was “not working”. Partly because I hate printers in general, but mostly because I know which brand it is.

I was especially unhappy to arrive in front of the printer to find it was not in quite the same place as it was last time I saw it. Equipment mysteriously moving around rarely bodes well. I haven’t yet discovered who moved it, but I am possibly going to kill them when I do. Perhaps you can work out why from my report back to the person who raised the ticket:

“Dear Scientist,

Your printer was not working because it was switched off at the wall and all the cables had been unplugged from the back. Oh, and it had no paper in it.

Love and kisses,
AngryTechnician”

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

One response to “Not how I left it”

  1. Terry says :

    I too went to a printer today, teacher moans on and on about how it hasn’t worked for days and she has a busy class that needs things printed, blah blah blah.

    I opened the lid, removed the yellow print head, pulled the sticker off the metal contacts, put the printhead back in, closed the lid and walked out.

    She did at least say thank you…