Sales

A lot of people in my line of work hate sales people calling, the main reason being that we have enough interruptions throughout the day already.

Bizarrely, I actually don’t mind them calling as long as they are a) honest and b) know when to take a hint. Sadly, many of them fail these tests.

For example:

1. If you ask to speak to Bond and I ask if it’s a sales call because I know he’s busy, don’t say ‘no’, or try to avoid answering by saying something like ‘we were talking a couple of weeks ago about product X’ when what you mean is ‘I cold-called a couple of weeks ago and he said he was busy’.

He won’t be pleased, I won’t be pleased, we will blacklist you as a potential supplier, I will remember you next time, and I won’t even bother asking before telling you to go suck a lemon.

2. If you call trying to sell me brand X computers and I say we use entirely Dell throughout the school, that is your cue to say “thank you for your time”, shut your cake-hole, and move on. We did not settle on Dell by accident and there is almost certainly nothing you can say that will change my mind in a single phone call.

…unless you’re Lenovo and you’re offering me your kit at 2/3 the price of Dell, but I think we all know that’s not going to happen.

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

2 responses to “Sales”

  1. Matt says :

    Sounds about right.

    We are being inundated with cold callers recently, must be the recession!

  2. Emanuel Crisp says :

    Worse yet, when you ask for quotes on equipment via email or SchoolQuote, specifically lay out in great detail the Dell desktop you are after and then receive quotes for computers that were seemingly built in someone’s shed. Argh.