Attack of the fusers

A couple of weeks ago I was called to an office to attend to a printer with a paper jam. The printer in question was a repeat offender, so I immediately opened the back cover to where I knew a piece of paper would be lying in wait, silently mocking me for having to come and remove it.

I found the insolent little git, and swiftly pulled it out.

In doing so, I managed to pull the entire fuser unit out of the back of the printer at high speed, at which point it launched a vicious gravity-assisted attack on my foot.

This happened because at some point since the last jamming incident, someone had turned all of the locking catches that held the fuser in place to the ‘unlock’ position.

I was… unamused.

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.