Way to screw up my 5-year plan, Dell

At my recent job interview I was asked to give a presentation on a ridiculously vague subject that essentially amounted to crystal-ball gazing.

In part of it I laid out my tentative predictions for the next 5-10 years of client evolution in education. I posited that the recent explosive growth in the use of netbooks would lead them to be the cornerstone of education workstations in 5 years time.

I also predicted that the mass-marketability of the iPhone would popularise touch interfaces to the point where they became very cheap to mass-produce, and that within the next few years we would a convergence leading to touchscreen netbooks.

Today, Dell put their newest netbook on sale in the US and Europe, the Latitude L2100. It’s specifically designed for the education market.

It has a touch screen.

The touch screen option is just £33 extra.

Apparently we have already reached the point where touchscreens are cheap to mass-produce. I will gleefully say I saw it coming. I did not see it coming this soon. So thanks, Dell, for totally ruining my predictions for the next 5 years. I especially hate you for doing it with a product that is quite clearly very cool.

Tags: , , , , ,

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

6 responses to “Way to screw up my 5-year plan, Dell”

  1. Federico says :

    That is indeed very cool. I want one! I especially like the charging/networked station.

  2. Reboot_Technician says :

    Did you not hear about this new product then?
    http://www.liliputing.com/2009/01/asus-introduces-eee-pc-t91-convertible-touchscreen-netbook.html

    It was announce some time ago, but is not released yet. Looks mighty good though.

  3. AngryTechnician says :

    Oh I heard about it, but assumed it was Asus future-gazing and that it wouldn’t make it to market anytime soon. It’s also looking considerably more expensive than the Dell, and while Asus are good at making components, I don’t rate them as a whole-build supplier.

  4. Jon says :

    At least your predictions were about the future. Have a look at some of the visions from Local Authorities for BSF. They talk about interactive boards in all classrooms in 3 years time.

  5. Gerard Sweeney says :

    Nice touchscreen..

    In terms of the trolley – Isn’t this just Class In A Box? Something RM touted years ago. Unfortunately, they saddled it with 20 laptops trying to access 1 single wireless router going into 1 CAT5 wallpoint… And folk wondered why certain things ran slowly on them :)

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Netbooks - Ready for Education Prime-Time? | The Masterplan - 3rd June, 2009