I’m coming, stop talking

Sometimes when someone phones with a problem, it becomes clear early on that I would do better to go to them rather than try to fix the problem over the phone. Maybe it’s an unusual problem, maybe they aren’t able to articulate its complexities, maybe they can’t get past “it’s not working” due to being dropped on the head as a baby.

What baffles me is the number of people who, once I’ve told them “I’m coming over now,” will keep me on the phone while they continue to keep trying to explain the problem, or why it needs fixing.

I’ve said I’m coming. Stop talking. Every moment you keep me on the phone is time I could be spending coming to you to fix the problem. What mental deficiency do you have that prevents you from grasping this?

Maybe there’s some reason they don’t want me to see me. I can’t imagine what it could be.

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

One response to “I’m coming, stop talking”

  1. Dan Rhodes says :

    I find this all the time and it really bugs me! Nice site by the way!