Ignorance

If you are the sales rep dealing with ADSL contract renewals, and I call you to ask why your product is so special that it is literally twice the price per year of your most expensive competitor’s equivalent product, then you should really start thinking about what makes yours different.

Telling me all the features that are standard on every ADSL product is a waste of your time, and mine. It’s worse if you actually can’t remember the correct terminology for the features and I have to finish your sentences for you after I get bored of waiting for the “um….” to finish.

However, the real killer for you would be failing to mention the one significant feature that actually makes your service unique.

I learned today that RM contract renewals are helpful and friendly. Unfortunately they don’t seem to have a firm grasp on their own product’s features, and some of those products are incredibly overpriced. Being helpful and friendly will get you far in sales, but it won’t let you allow your company to rip me off.

Tags:

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

One response to “Ignorance”

  1. andyt31 says :

    Sounds like BT to me. They call me several times a day to make me renew. Think I may move to O2 broadband….