“Because you have to”

If one of the line items on your invoice is for “Microsoft SQL Server 2005”, and it’s £900/pa more than I can buy it for directly from Microsoft, you really should have a good reason for why I should buy it from you.

“Because you have to” is not a good reason.

It is the very opposite of a good reason.

The software is the same regardless of who I buy it from. The company in question here actually isn’t ripping me off intentionally; I’m pretty sure they simply don’t get the educational discounts that the school does when buying direct. However, I am now eagerly awaiting a call from someone more senior to hear their allegedly sound reasoning about why I have to buy a generic software package at their rates instead of getting the exact same thing directly from Microsoft for a fraction of the price.

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.