Taking the rough with the smooth

Smooth:

  • Successfully moving two servers and a UPS off of the bench in my office and into the server rack where they belong.
  • Powering down the core switch, firewall, and router to swap out the old UPS, and having them all come back on without a hitch.

Rough:

  • Nearly dropping the PDC on the floor after discovering that the rack mount kit is somewhat flimsier than I anticipated.

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

2 responses to “Taking the rough with the smooth”

  1. Giles says :

    Not as rough as actually dropping the damned thing!

    • AngryTechnician says :

      Indeed.

      My theory is that all server hardware installations involve pain. Either the equipment takes the pain, or you take the pain. The equipment’s pain is expensive. My pain is free. Hence, I now have a bloody huge welt on my arm from catching the server.