“Orientate”

I hate the word ‘orientate’.

I used to think this word was one made up by illiterate morons, and was dismayed when I checked a dictionary to find it is listed as a real word. It means exactly the same thing as ‘orient’, which is a perfectly good word that DIDN’T NEED THREE MORE LETTERS ADDING.

Whenever I hear people using this bastardisation, I want to throttle them. Especially if they use it to define OOP as ‘Object Orientated Programming’, because that actually is wrong.

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

6 responses to ““Orientate””

  1. bofhuk says :

    A favourite word of someone I work with is “documentate” (even though they’ve been told numerous times that there’s no such word)!

  2. WG says :

    I thought I was the only person in Britain to be annoyed by ‘orientate’. I’m delighted to find I am not.

  3. BM says :

    I hate ‘superb’, whats wrong with super and what other word has a b stuck on the end.

  4. Giles says :

    @ BM

    Bob?

  5. MS says :

    People who say “orientate” should be shot.
    People who say “reconciliate” should be tortured, then shot.

    (The poster condones neither the use of torture nor the death penalty for grammatical errors.)

  6. SnoogleFoo says :

    I feel VERY strongly about this …

    Its ORIENT! SAY IT OR DIE!!!