Spam

If you are a supplier touting for new business, may I suggest that adding my email address to your inane weekly mailout without asking me is a bad idea, especially if said weekly email is filled with special offers on HP products?

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

2 responses to “Spam”

  1. FobbedOff says :

    The worst offenders even appear to obfuscate the link to unsubscribe on their emails. That tends to get them sin binned immediately. Does anyone have any amusing ways of dealing with the sales rep who follows up on the email a few days later?

  2. TheCrust says :

    I usually email them back with a polite “if you don’t stop sending me this rubbish, I will get your company’s email domain added to the blacklist up at the regional broadband supplier, and you will be unable to email *any* school in the region – I wish you the very best of luck explaining your poor sales performance to schools after that point to your sales director. Love and kisses….”

    On occasion I’ve even had a call back from the sales director in a blind panic as a result pleading with me not to block anything – to which I usually say the answer is simple and entirely in their control: stop emailing me crap.

    Seems to work – it gets the message across and keeps me amused in the process. :-)