Confessions of a Window Cleaner

This morning I removed the display boards that have been covering the windows to my office that look out onto the corridor. Right across the corridor are windows to the outside world, so for the first time since leaving university, I have an office not only with natural light, but with a view.

I then spent a good 45 minutes cleaning off the sticky tape residue left over from a decade of sticking posters to the inside of the windows. I swore vengeance on the next person I see using sticky tape on glass.

Later in the afternoon, I was taking down some work that had been stuck to the wall with blu-tack, when I discovered that at some point, the culprit had run out of blu-tack, and decided to use white-tack instead. Which would have been fine, if they had actually had any white-tack. They didn’t, so they used plasticine instead. Words cannot describe how difficult this is to clean off. I gave up halfway through and am now considering covering the entire section of wall with posters instead to hide the god-awful mess that is the legacy of someone with just enough ingenuity to be dangerous.

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

5 responses to “Confessions of a Window Cleaner”

  1. Mike says :

    Get the painters to quickly run over the wall…..as a sorry for painting your whiteboards :D

  2. Neil says :

    Thats probably a bad idea, might end up cleaning paint splatters of the newly transparent window.

  3. Michael says :

    Should have used WD40, brilliant for that kind of stuff, you think its going to leave an oily mess but it just doesn’t. There is very little WD40 can’t do :p

  4. ScottishTech says :

    Can it help me locate the switches that the 400-odd printers we have are connected? :)

    • ScottishTech says :

      WD40 couldn’t, but some AutoIt scripting to talk to the various Cisco switches did – for the most part – locate where all of the printers were patched – huzzah!

      I’m sure WD40 would have if I’d given it some more time.