Lazy behaviour

I noticed early on at my current job that on one of my servers, I got the following message whenever I logged in:

RM TCP

This would be immediately followed by a similar and more lengthy message, this time regarding UDP instead of TCP.

Here’s what I found when I looked it up on RM’s knowledge library:

“This may occur if the server to which you are trying to connect has NetOp service enabled. You can safely ignore the error message. It is a normal behaviour when connecting remotely to a server via remote desktop.”

Normal behaviour.

Translation: ‘We’re too lazy to fix this so it will annoy you every time you log in, forever. Love and kisses, RM.’

Tags:

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

3 responses to “Lazy behaviour”

  1. William says :

    Perhaps RM just dislike Remote Desktop.
    Every time Remote Desktop is launched on a CC4 station, it raises an error on the local machine saying ‘settings will not be stored’. RM’s response is again to live with it.

  2. Sanguinor says :

    Welcome to our world =)

    We have cookies.

  3. Soup says :

    Never ceases to bring a smile to my face, well done RM.

    The biggest disaster to hit us was also the biggest move forward and best experience since – it caused us to leave RM whilst costing 2 weeks of hell. Now everything is excellent.