RM don’t have a damned clue what they’re talking about

Within minutes of logging onto an RM system for the first time, I became frustrated with the fact that on most workstations, any keyboard shortcut using the Windows key had been disabled, even for administrators. Win+R, Win+E, and Win+L are shortcuts I use all the time, so my frustration mounted quickly.

First I was told that Win+x shortcuts were disabled because they are “a security risk”, on the basis that by using Win+R, someone could run programs that aren’t on the Start Menu. There are three flaws in this argument:

  1. If your workstation security is set correctly, it shouldn’t matter what program they can run. Security through obscurity is a fallacy I do not entertain.
  2. There are plenty of other ways for someone to start programs that aren’t on the Start Menu.
  3. You can disable this command using Group Policy for particular users without affecting administrators, or the other benign shortcuts.

Later I found an RM support document (TEC85637 for those with access) that boldly stated that by leaving Win+L enabled, users would be able to lock the workstation and stop other people from using it, even if they were prevented from locking the workstation elsewhere in the UI (i.e. by pressing Ctrl+Alt+Del and clicking ‘Lock Workstation’). When I first read this, I’ll confess I’d never tested such a scenario, but it seemed very unlikely.

So I checked.

It’s utterly false.

RM really don’t have a damned clue what they’re talking about.

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

6 responses to “RM don’t have a damned clue what they’re talking about”

  1. Killer_Bot says :

    Amen to that.

    I got fed up of changing the local registry every time I wanted to use the win key but policies kept changing it back after a few days. The network manager refuses to mess with the policy to control it too! I just use ‘ctrl’ & ‘esc’ for the windows menu now and make do without the rest.

  2. Andy says :

    Totally concur … if they do your hardware maintenance, I’d make sure you check everything after they visit. We didn’t and had to rebuild the entire network after they ‘mistakenly’ managed to rebuild a server to raid 0.

    On the plus side, we’ve now got a nicely running stock virtualised network that uses AD instead of ‘scripts’ and no more external support costs.

  3. Ben says :

    Wait until you get CC4, that will totally blow your mind to the level of crap that RM can shovel. I used to love RM, but it just seems to get worse and worse. I’m an ICT Teacher now after years of tech-ing in schools. Imagine trying to teach when NOTHING WORKS!(not the tech in schools fault, it’s the crap shovelled by RM)

  4. andyt31 says :

    Talking of RM, here is one of mine :)

    RM Nimbus PC-186 boot screen