How to be a Favourite – #7: The Thank-you Email

You probably all know someone who seems to get the things they ask for from IT more quickly than you. Chances are, they are a Favourite.

Until recently, I thought I’d covered the main ways of becoming a Favourite. Then someone demonstrated possibly the easiest method of them all:

7. Send me a glowing and unsolicited thank-you email, copied to the Headmaster

Let’s face it, that probably trumps all six of the previous methods.

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

5 responses to “How to be a Favourite – #7: The Thank-you Email”

  1. pyroman says :

    Nice 1, i’ve started having people sending me e-mails moaning at me and CCing them to the head, great!

  2. Sanguinor says :

    I actually got a round of applause from a class last week. That made my day and the member of staff that inspired it also became a favourite.

  3. Da Goop says :

    Random acts of kindness also help, a breaker has just become a favorite due to the provision of a large portion of scones, clotted cream, butter and jam.

  4. ScottishTech says :

    God, yes..

    It’s been a while since I experienced this random act of kindness, but it does get remembered..

    And at the opposite end of the spectrum – those who stab me in the back by complaining about me to my Boss when something I’ve repeatedly warned them about for OVER 2 BLOODY YEARS finally happens. Those people I remember, too – but in a far less nice way.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Angry, but appreciated… - 17th March, 2011