Health Hazard

This week, I discovered an unanticipated effect of the core networking server rack being in my office. The summer heat and difficulty hearing people on the telephone was expected, but this wasn’t.

Yesterday, when I had a visitor in the office for most of the day, I spent so long talking with a raised voice over the din that by the time I went home, I had a sore throat.

I was… displeased.

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

3 responses to “Health Hazard”

  1. Terry McDonald says :

    I spent my first year as a Tech in a cupboard they called ‘the server room’ before the ICT teachers where kicked out of the office opposite and moved into a new room. It’s scarey how quick the roar of the servers and switched becomes background noise!

    • AngryTechnician says :

      Very true. I find now that even on the phone I just automatically cover the other ear so I can hear what’s being said. I do worry what long term damage it might be doing to my hearing, which is why there are plans in the pipeline to wall off the corner of my (admittedly spacious) office that the server cabinet is in.

  2. G says :

    While I do have a separate server room and office, I spend a lot of time in the server room. I’ve recently developed a bad habit of turning down/off the aircon so the server room is quiet and warm enough to work in (the work area is directly in the airflow), and then forgetting to turn it back on!