Reckless

I assert than anyone who is retarded enough to install Windows Updates on a customer-facing production server in the middle of the goddamned day deserves everything they get.

They most certainly deserve a prompt phone call from me asking why my entire school’s website (including the hosted MIS) became unavailable while I was in the middle of posting new content, then later writing a pithy blog post about how “we didn’t think it would cause IIS to shut down” is not a valid excuse.

I work late on the evening after patch Tuesday to install server updates, and all of my servers are internal. When I’m paying you thousands of pounds a year to maintain this stuff, I expect that to stretch to some late working.

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.