Silence

I ask you: who in their right mind would implement a ‘Silent’ setting on a mobile phone that has the vibrate function DISABLED by default?

Answer: Nokia, that’s who.

Now I know why I’ve been missing calls when my phone is on silent for, ooh… I don’t know, the last YEAR. Here I was thinking my upper thigh was just going numb.

Tags:

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

7 responses to “Silence”

  1. stockyscouts says :

    My HTC TyTN II does the same. Only worked out on Saturday! DOH

  2. Nat says :

    you sound as bad as nokia for taking a year to work out what was happening! :p

    • AngryTechnician says :

      I don’t use my phone much. On average, I make and receive fewer than 6 calls per month combined. Also, the last 5 Nokia’s I’ve owned did not work this way, so it was wholly unexpected.

  3. Sanguinor says :

    Can’t say I’ve ever had that problem myself, more that I feel my phone going off!

  4. Ray says :

    I’m in Nokia’s camp on this one – My phone has “normal”, “vibrate” and “silent”. And it really bugs me that the “silent” mode still vibrates. The first thing I do is change the “silent” mode so that it is properly silent – no vibration, nothing.

    There are times when I don’t want to switch my phone off, but I really don’t want any noise at all coming from it.

    I know it’s dangerous the disagree with the Angry Technician, but I’m feeling brave this afternoon!