Argumentative

If you are a supplier calling me to tout for business, and I say I’m not interested in switching supplier because of specific features of the own-brand product my current supplier manufactures themselves, arguing with me about how you don’t think it’s possible for them to be manufacturing the products themselves is a good way to get me to hang up on you.

Don’t presume to tell me what is and isn’t true about another supplier that you know bugger all about. I’m not an idiot. You are.

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

2 responses to “Argumentative”

  1. TheCrust says :

    A software vendor telling teaching colleagues that schools IT staff should “read the bleedin’ instructions – must be stupid and blind – network deployment is covered in them” is rather a good way to get themselves added to the blacklist too.

    I did debate a ‘Return to sender’, along with half a pound of dog poo, but figured it would be equally unprofessional as their comments made about me.

    Would have been satisfying though. :-)

  2. Joe90bass says :

    Or ring and tell you that your 18 month old CAT 6 cabling is out of date and should be replaced.

    I couldn’t be bothered to tell him that as we use POE the majority of switches and therefore PCs run at 100MB anyway so CAT 6 is OTT for us……….

    Needless to say, when I was after a quote for additional cabling they didn’t get a call