Fancy sending an Android phone into space?

Last week I bought a Dell Streak, my first smartphone in a long time, and the first phone I’ve owned that runs on the Android OS. I’m not quite at the point where I’d want to send my new purchase into space – but I know a man who is.

Danny Pier just bought an Evo 4G, and has decided he wants to send it into the stratosphere on a weather balloon, where it will record pictures and video before parachuting back to earth, all the while tracking and transmitting its location using the onboard GPS and cellular transceiver so he can retrieve his phone, and then repeat the whole experience. He’s looking for financial backers though the Kickstarter program, so head over there to hear his pitch, and if you’re game, join me in donating to his venture.

It’s a project that should prove interesting and inspiring, especially for schools, so I’d urge you to check it out.

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.