Dear Microsoft

I’m not sure if Microsoft Query is actually part of Windows or part of Office, but whichever is responsible for it, neither Office 2010 nor Windows 7 should contain software with an interface this cumbersome and ugly:

Even Word 95 on Windows 7 looks better than this. I know, because I’ve tried it. It works better too. Anything more complicated than the simple relationship I’ve shown here is almost impossible to work with. I was trying to import some SQL Server data into Excel 2010 last week, and I spent half an hour with this damned thing trying to correctly tie only 4 criteria together, and I was only using AND and OR. I gave up and edited the SQL manually.

I know you can do better than this, because I frequently work with complex queries in SQL Management Studio, and the query designer in that is a thing of beauty. Microsoft Query, on the other hand, is a beast. A monstrosity. An embarrassment to modern computing. Hold on, my phone is ringing… oh hey, it’s for you; it’s 1992 and they want their user interface design back.

Love and kisses,
AngryTechnician

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

3 responses to “Dear Microsoft”

  1. p858snake says :

    looks whip someone whipped out query and stick it in its own for excel files…..

  2. tmcd35 says :

    Erm, does Microsoft know that Query still exists and is being installed on end users computers? Looks like it hasen’t been updated since Windows 3.11. I think they must have pulled the plug on it decades ago but who ever was responsible left the company before taking the code out of Windows/Office.

  3. The Angry Technician says :

    2 1/2 years on, we are now on Office 2013 (and Windows 8) and Query is still there, still looking like something the dog threw up: https://angrytechnician.files.wordpress.com/2013/01/office-2013-ms-query.png