Crash Protection FAIL

Upgraded to Firefox 3.6 today, complete with its new Crash Protection. Unfortunately it doesn’t extend to Adobe Reader, as I found the moment I clicked on an open PDF tab, just seconds after upgrading.

Tags: , ,

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

3 responses to “Crash Protection FAIL”

  1. TheCrust says :

    I wouldn’t blame Firefox completely – didn’t someone called “Jobs” once say he was withdrawing support for some Adobe software because it was the most prolific causes of instability and crashes in a certain OS?

    :-)

    • AngryTechnician says :

      Oh, I’m under no illusions about how astronomically unstable Adobe products are, and Mozilla do say that Crash Protection is currently only protecting against Flash, Silverlight, and (haha) Quicktime. I just thought it was amusing that a plugin they omitted from that list crashed the browser within seconds of them telling me I was now protected from crashes.

      Technically it’s not a failure of the crash protection technology, but a failure of not extending that technology to the plugin that causes the most crashes for me. To be fair, I would probably have Flash listed as my #1 crash causer if not for the fact that I use Flashblock.

      • Andy says :

        Ah that’s why I switched to FoxIT reader .. doesn’t support all the Adobe rubbish they now put into PDF (like live editing) but it doesn’t crash at all for me.