Dear Flickr

When I linked my Facebook account to Flickr, I did so because the built-in Flickr publishing that Facebook provides is slow to recognise when I’ve uploaded new photos. I thought you could do a better job. Then I uploaded 23 photos to my photostream, and found that you had sent 23 separate updates to Facebook saying I had uploaded 1 new photo, instead of 1 update saying I’d uploaded 23 photos. You literally took over my wall. It was horrific, and it left me wondering one thing.

WHAT THE HELL DO YOU THINK YOU’RE DOING?

Seriously, what led your designers to think this was in any way a good idea? This is the exact same BS you used to pull with LiveJournal updates, and it shows that you clearly haven’t learned how people use social media. You’re the foremost photo sharing website in the world, and yet you seem to have no concept whatsoever of how people want to share content outside your own site. Please get your act together. Some of us actually pay for your service, and this really needs to be better.

Love and kisses,
AngryTechnician

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

4 responses to “Dear Flickr”

  1. clnelson says :

    Amen–I agree. HATE the FL/FB connection.

  2. Thom says :

    Isn’t the cause of the problem due to Yahoo! sticking its nose in where its not wanted?

    p.s. I thought Facebook was officially “the foremost photo sharing website in the world” not flickr. Mind you neither of them have a particularly great photo service

    • AngryTechnician says :

      Facebook would only beat out Flickr if the definition of ‘foremost’ was ‘having the highest number of low-resolution shots of jailbait cleavage’.