How to get me to ignore your quote

If you’re a supplier and I’ve forwarded you my technical requirements for a large purchase, here’s a few easy tips you can use to ensure your quote goes straight in my round file.

  • Ask me when the kit needs to be delivered, despite the answer being on page 1 of the tender document.
  • Ask me if I’d like HP kit instead, when I’ve explicitly said that I don’t on page 1 of the tender document.
  • Leave out the one component from a machine that I said was essential on the tender document.
  • Quote for completely different models than those I asked for on the tender document despite me saying I wanted those exact models. You know, on the tender document. Bonus points for a different brand, and for not sending me the specification of the alternatives you quoted for.
  • Quote for full-size tower workstations when I specified ultra-small workstations with a wall mount on the tender document.
  • Quote for monitors with no USB ports when I explicitly said on the tender document that they must have USB ports.
  • Quote for a 1 year warranty when I said I wanted 3 years on the tender document.
  • Bump up the price by quoting  a more expensive version of Windows than the one I asked for on the tender document.
  • Make it clear in some other way that you HAVEN’T BOTHERED TO READ THE SODDING TENDER DOCUMENT.

Seriously, do you think I wrote up 6 pages of equipment specifications for a laugh? The whole idea of it was to take the guesswork out of the process for you, precisely so I wouldn’t treat your resulting half-baked and incompetent attempt at a quote with the utterly deserved mixture of bemusement and scorn that it received in equal measures.

When you call me next year to ask if you can quote on anything, I will say ‘no’. Understand that this will not be me declining you the chance to quote, it is a simple answer to the question of whether you are actually capable of producing a quote.

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

3 responses to “How to get me to ignore your quote”

  1. FobbedOff says :

    In the public sector, if I spend over £150K over 3 years on a particular category of IT equipment, I have to utilise an EU approved framework agreement or go out to EU tender to purchase said equipment. The process of purchasing equipment has now become so complex and fraught with legal pitfalls we have to employ procurement staff, qualified to wade through EU law, to help us.

    Apparently all these extra people and time consuming processes are supposed to show good value to the taxpayer.

    I’ll tell you what, let’s throw some more public sector front line staff onto the unemployment heap so we can afford more worthwhile processes like these. While we are at it, you may as well raid my pension so the poor bankers can afford to retire at 50 because I am less likely to be around to collect it at 70. I am pretty sure I could live without my ‘massive’ performance related bonus of £230 a year too although my kids might have to do without their Christmas presents.

    Do I come across as bitter and twisted? Surely not…

  2. Clive Portman says :

    Too true. We only have the budget and need for smaller orders but the amount of upselling is ridiculous, particularly by the LA’s first-choice supplier.