Gerbil

Take a good look at that face, and answer me one question:

Would you trust this gerbil?

If you answered yes, then you’ve been taken in. Fooled by a cute and cuddly exterior that hides a devious and cunning mind.

This furry little bugger is one of the gerbils we keep in the science department at my school, where an IP webcam is trained on them to broadcast their antics across the school. A few weeks ago I found him scurrying around the floor of my office on a Sunday afternoon, and ever since that taste of freedom, he’s made it his mission to escape. He’s mastered the art of scaling the sides of his cage, and has figured out that if he stands on the side of his food bowl, he can outright leap straight out of the top hatch, which we now have to keep weighed down. Last week, in a bold move of resistance against his Big Brother overlords, he escaped once again, and in the few minutes until the Head of Science spotted him, managed to chew clean through the DC cable of the webcam:

Luckily that low DC current isn’t enough to hurt them, and is fairly trivial to repair. When I joined the cable back together, I took some extra time to run the entire length through some tough PVC conduit tubing. It’s not invulnerable, but it should take a little bit longer for him to get through next time.

Your move, my furry friend…

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

7 responses to “Gerbil”

  1. daveb says :

    That gerbil has brains, you think he was just hungry but chewing through that wire was direct action against the surveillance society. Gerbils need privacy too! I’d take the hint or next time he will take out your router!

  2. ICT_Tech says :

    If he is Brains then where is Pinky?!?

  3. Gerard Sweeney says :

    I am not a number, I am a human being… Erm, gerbil.

    Sorry, I know that’s a (mis)quote from Prisoner but I couldn’t think of any Big Brother quotes that didn’t involve Davina screaming at the camera, pulling stupid faces and acting like any trivial piece of inconsequential nonsense in the house is up there with the second coming of the Messiah.

    And.. Rest.

    Ah – here’s one:

    “Never again will you be capable of ordinary human feeling. Everything will be dead inside you. Never again will you be capable of love, or friendship, or joy of living, or laughter, or curiosity, or courage, or integrity. You will be hollow.”

    That’s a scarily accurate description of most of my days at work.

  4. ScottishTech says :

    Yike – there’s what appears to be a Dalek plunger arm outside of the cage!!

  5. Jon Nowicki says :

    I have had problems with Squirrels ( grey tree rats) gnawing through my telephone cable at home. BT have now installed rodent proof cable. Telephone worked but no Internet. You check everything, then check everything. Call BT who do a line test but the test is not really for Internet as the telephone can use 1 pair. So I had BT in with the provisio if it was not their problem I would have to pay. They took the cable down and the evidence was there. Then they put up extra strog cable, I beleieve it could be used as a tightrope.

    • ScottishTech says :

      Jon – I wouldn’t advise ever putting that theory to the test. It will almost certainly lead to loss of phone and broadband, not to mention some considerable pain. Plus the squirrels will wet themselves laughing.

  6. Jon Nowicki says :

    I guess my nuts could be squashed if I was to try it.