Taking the Biscuit

Years ago, I was asked by a friend (let’s call him Bob) to take a look at a malfunctioning floppy disk. It wasn’t a life-or-death case of lost data, but Bob was nonetheless confused as to why it had suddenly failed. I popped the disk into Bob’s brand new Windows 95 machine and ran chkdsk. It failed, complaining the disk had bad blocks.

“How does that happen?” asked Bob.

“Well,” I replied, “sometimes grit gets inside the disk and causes small scratches on the disk surface as it turns.” I popped the disk out and slid the shutter open with my finger to demonstrate. “Watch carefully as I turn it and we’ll probably see a small scratch in there…”

I twisted the centre hub of the disk, and as the disk slowly turned, we both peered inside looking for the tell-tale circular scratch on the surface of the disk.

At that moment, some biscuit crumbs fell out. From inside the disk.

They appeared to be… digestives.

“Bob,” I asked, “do you keep this disk in the same pocket of your coat as your morning biscuits?”

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

4 responses to “Taking the Biscuit”

  1. ICT_Tech says :

    LMAO !!! :)

  2. Gerard Sweeney says :

    Were they chocolate digestives? If so, you’d probably have melted chocolate to worry about as well.

    I trust he (a) had the good grace to sheepishly admit his plonkerism and (b) supplied a packet of the aforementioned disk shredders for your own morning cuppa?

  3. Claudio says :

    Good one to start the day! ;-)