This is not a Critical Alert

On Boxing Day this year, I got an urgent email from HP.

Critical Alert for your Networking”

Great, I thought. Has some git published a zero-day exploit on Boxing Day? Or have HP have found a catastrophic bug that will bring my core switch to its knees at midnight on New Years Eve?

No, it was a link to some Contract & Carepack Software Download Instructions, which frankly is not critical information for anyone, especially not for someone like me:  HP know full well that I do not have any contracts or Carepacks. They know this because it’s in the bloody profile I filled in to sign up to these alerts.

Worse still? This “critical” alert was issued on the 20th December, and I didn’t get it until 6 days later. Last time I checked, email wasn’t subject to delays due to the distribution warehouse being snowed under in Scotland; that’s regular mail. I don’t want to think about what will happen when an actual critical alert is this late.

Get it together, HP. Your idiocy may be good material for this blog, but believe it or not, I’d actually rather you did your jobs properly.

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.