What a coincidence

It’s been more than 18 months since I took over from my predecessor (let’s call him Bob), yet I still have the following conversation with different members of staff about once a month:

“…so just pop over to my office when you have time.”

“Where’s your office?”

“Upstairs in the science block.”

“Where’s that?”*

“Do you know where Bob’s old office is?”

“Yep.”

“Funnily enough, it’s the same office.”

* Usually, this is someone who has worked at the school for about 10 years. The building even has its name on the side of it.

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

8 responses to “What a coincidence”

  1. ICT_Tech says :

    Think I can beat that, I have been at my work 7 years and a senior member of the management called out to me over the playground by the name of the tech that left 18 months ago!

    GRRRR!!

  2. Steven says :

    Let me get this right… You are complaining about staff not knowing where your office is?! I wish half of our staff forgot / didn’t know where mine is!

    • AngryTechnician says :

      I’d rather they forget my phone number. The door can be barricaded.

      • TheCrust says :

        Phones can be unplugged, or ignored if you really don’t want to be disturbed.

        We even answer ours as a completely different department sometimes – on quiet days you have to make your own entertainment. While most staff have cottoned on to our antics and take it in their stride, the record for retries stands at 8 thanks to one very confused geographer.

  3. ScottishTech says :

    Isn’t that what caller ID is for? :)

    The phone gets answered if one or more of the following conditions are met:

    * I like the person
    * I’m likely to get coffee and cake (or booze at Xmas)
    * The person is an attractive female
    * The person has a master key and would annoy me anyway
    * The person is my Boss or higher up the food chain than that

    Otherwise I’m on my mobile dealing with a server issue in another school by remote – please log the call like you’re supposed to, and it will be attended to when I can be arsed.

    Much like one of your other posts, actually, AT.

  4. korifugi says :

    Just as annoying are the people who expect you to be able to decipher a location and who they are from a hastily scribbled note…

    ….I usually round file these though.

  5. ScottishTech says :

    I welcome notes shoved under my door – it saves me from having to find bits of paper to write my own notes on. Completely disregarding what’s written on the original side, of course.

  6. Sarah Evans says :

    A bit late to the party, but this post actually made me LOL – which is even funnier when you’re on your own!