Tactical Retreat

If an otherwise perfectly capable user has decided that they can’t solve a problem themselves, and that you can solve it, it is utterly impossible for you to persuade them otherwise. Any attempt to do so will only convince them that you are work-shy and purposefully making things difficult for them. And you will not hear the last of it until you, personally, have made their problem go away.

The best you can make of this situation is to simply get on with it, and hope whatever they find to whinge about next time has nothing to do with you.

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

5 responses to “Tactical Retreat”

  1. haretek says :

    Wow, you have certainly hit that nail squarely on the head! Thank you.

  2. ChrisCubed says :

    “But WHY can’t you make these 6 year old laptops any faster? You must be able to if you spent some time on it!”

    I know time is money, but there’s no excuse for exchanging one for the other in a sentence…

  3. ICT_Tech says :

    That situation arises EVERYDAY !

    Wonder if I could ‘accidentally’ leave some of your posts somewhere so the users can see what a pain in the ar*e they are and how much we do for them :-)

  4. ICT_Tech says :

    P.S. Interestingly if you look at the amount of post per category you have done the top three are:-

    Users: 130
    Software: 120
    Hardware: 100

    The 3 most annoying parts of working in IT :-D

  5. ScottishTech says :

    SING IT, BROTHER!

    “Why is the Intranet so slow – you must be able to fix it?”
    Nope, that’s the IT section and your uberlords won’t spend money on a new one, despite repeated warnings for the last 3 bloody years.

    “I need a laptop, but I don’t have any money – you work with computers – give me one!”
    Erm, where to begin… (a) I don’t allocate IT resources, I just fix the damn things, (b) I’d like a new car, but I don’t have any money. You earn significantly more than me so buy me one!

    I’ll stop now, as I’m starting to hammer the keys just a bit too enthusiastically.