Adobe Reader 10.0.1 enterprise download is actually bug-filled version 10.0.0

After holding back on Adobe Reader X until version 10.0.1 was released to fix some typically egregious bugs (including one with opening files on DFS paths), I went to deploy it this week. Having dutifully signed up for the ridiculous and unnecessary annual distribution licence, I downloaded the enterprise distribution installer, unsurprisingly named AdbeRdr1001_en_US.exe.

I installed it on a test rig, and was honestly not surprised to find that the DFS bug was still there. What did surprise me was the reason: when I went to check the version number, and found I had 10.0.0 installed.

I then double-checked the .msi I’d extracted from the setup program with Orca, and, lo and behold:

Examining the versions in the File table yielded the same story: the version of the core AcroRd32.dll was listed as 10.0.0.407, when it should have been 10.0.1.434.

In short, Adobe have published the wrong version on their official site and FTP server. There are precious few conclusions that can be drawn from this other than that they have no idea what on earth they are doing on a day to day basis.

If you want the actual 10.0.1 version, you need to apply the appropriate .msp patch from the Adobe Reader update page.

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

13 responses to “Adobe Reader 10.0.1 enterprise download is actually bug-filled version 10.0.0”

  1. Joe90bass says :

    Glad to see their QA process is well used and tested…………..

  2. ScottishTech says :

    They did something equally baffling with their Shockwave Player release.

    You can download it in 2 flavours – MSI or EXE.

    Both claim to be the same. However, only the MSI comes with the “backwards compatible” stuff needed for certain Shockwave sites. Including one which all of our schools use. Splendid.

    The MSI was – however – reported to be buggy as all hell, so well worth skipping. Which is why I’d gone for the exe.

    You don’t want to know how much time I wasted finding that out. It also seemed like news to their tech support team when I phoned them in an effort to avoid other people having minor brain explosions.

    No, in fact they flat out refused to acknowledge the problem and finally suggested that I should use the MSI to solve my issue.. Which totally missed the point of my 20 minute phone call.

    Gimps.

  3. Daniel Beardsmore says :

    Ah. Right. That explains why I gave someone Reader 10 and it blew up in their face.

    This is the same company where I had to screw around with their file shares to get 9 to work without exploding.

    I never had the time to investigate what exactly caused the program to start malfunctioning again as of 10, but one must ask: why can every other company deal just fine with UNC paths, folder redirection of Application Data, DFS shares etc, but Adobe continually pumps out broken copies of Reader?

    (OK, a few companies still don’t understand the concept of shell namespace and coccoon themselves in the 16-bit era when all we had was drive letters. If you’re lucky, you’ll get “Desktop” and “My Documents” folders, even if they do point to C: instead of the appropriate file share. There’s a shell! Ask it!)

    You will also enjoy Adobe UI Gripes if you’re not familiar with it; from his profanity, I suspect he’s also British: http://adobegripes.tumblr.com/

  4. Daniel Beardsmore says :

    One other thing … why can’t Reader just be a straight-up download link? I have to launch Opera to extract the latest download URL to Reader nowadays to bypass their pathetic download manager. If my Internet connection is so bad that I need software to manage downloads, I’ll install my own thanks! (Which has a bonus effect: it works on everyone else’s websites too!)

  5. Mark says :

    That’s useful info – I was deploying this earlier today but ran out of time, lucky me

  6. Mark says :

    Checked this morning on my test machines – and yep – 10.0.0 has installed from the 10.0.1 exe – even SCCM reports 10.0.0

  7. giles wendes says :

    Foxit?

  8. Daniel Beardsmore says :

    I switched to FoxIt Reader myself a few years ago, after a dalliance with ARSU to boost the load time of Adobe Reader (does *anyone* ever use Adobe Reader as a 3D renderer or to ship software? [1])

    It will be nice when there’s a completely reliable alternative to Flash; this is my PC on drugs^H^H^H^H^Hthe latest version of Flash Player:

    http://telcontar.net/Screenshots/botm.php?entry=2011-03-13

    Flash is now randomly overwriting the top-left of the display during video playback, even after killing plugin-container.exe. Possibly a video driver bug that would be resolved by a reboot, although that would be a strange co-incidence.

    [1] Not quite, but the PDF spec is quite scary: http://www.f-secure.com/weblog/archives/00001923.html — and when I read that blog article, Foxit Reader was vulnerable to the proof of concept PDF that would launch a program on your PC when opened: cmd.exe popped up on my PC automatically as requested by the document. Since fixed by Foxit, thankfully!

  9. Jon Day says :

    Oh boll*cks, I have just deployed a supposedly patched AcroRead.msi (AdbeRdrUpd1001_Tier1.msp) via SCCM to 500+ clients. Go to About Reader X and it shows as 10.0.1 but when you click on this number it changes to 10.0.0.407? WTF!
    Worst of all, this does not fix the open PDF over DFS which is where all our PDFs are stored, thanks Adobe.

    • AngryTechnician says :

      That is curious. I patched mine with that .msp and when I click on 10.0.1, it changes to 10.0.1.434, and mine doesn’t crash on DFS. Sounds like something went horribly wrong with the patching.