Time Warp

I’ve known for some time that my predecessor was something of a pack rat, and for the last 2 years I’ve been slowly finding secret hoards of equipment in drawers, cupboards, nooks, and crannies, all around the building.

And when I say “hoards of equipment”, what I mostly mean is “hoards of junk”.

Today, I found a hitherto unknown stash of old backup tapes, including these:

The last time these tapes were used was in 1991. I’m quite certain we do not have the equipment needed to read them.

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

5 responses to “Time Warp”

  1. Andy says :

    If it didn’t breach the DPA I’d suggest you send them to me – I still have a functioning RM server with a tape drive capable of reading them.

    Granted it’s in a disused toilet holding up a pot plant but it’s a nice and fitting retirement.

  2. p858snake says :

    Never know, there might be the equipment to read that stashed in another corner somewhere….

  3. ScottishTech says :

    I’m impressed/amused he took the time to use one of the alphabet stencil things to do the labels.

  4. giles wendes says :

    Keep up the search!

  5. Dave says :

    My predecessor was much the same, I still find things in boxes/ store rooms with ‘faulty’ stickers on.