Why every technician should own a Dremel Stylus

If you don’t own a Dremel as part of your technician’s kit… well, you don’t know what you’re missing. Until now! When I tell you!

  1. It’s excellent for cutting into pre-existing cable trunking when you need to add a new joint or exit point.
  2. Precision routing of holes in back boxes doesn’t feel like a total hack job any more. No more drilling a bunch of small holes and sawing them together to make a bigger hole! It’s like we’re living in the future.
  3. Effortlessly cuts near perfect recesses into plasterboard/drywall to fit dry liner boxes.
  4. Good for grinding down rivets when your sodding server case is badly manufactured.
  5. In a pinch, it works as a small power drill for those very tight spots.
  6. An absolute essential if you are in to (or want to get in to) case modding.
  7. Lastly – and this is why you should buy the Stylus model – it looks a bit like a Phaser from original Star Trek.

Well, I think it does.

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

10 responses to “Why every technician should own a Dremel Stylus”

  1. Ray says :

    When I first started in the IT business, I worked as a phone support technician for a hardware manufacturer. And because I occasionally went on-site I had a big red metal toolbox – containing screwdrivers etc. Plus a soldering iron and flux (oh, those were the days).

    I recently used a soldering iron again, for the first time in 15 years, and it got me all nostalgic. Now, reading this post, it makes me think that I can rekindle that same feeling on nostalgia, but with a seriously practical purpose. And it especially feeds my ‘caveman-like’ instinct to do DIY, which has had to be subdued since I moved into a rented house in Sydney – all my chunky powertools have had to be put in storage, as I can’t go drilling holes in the walls anytime I want.

  2. Kristof Mattei says :

    Live long, and prosper.

  3. Ric_ says :

    Oh no! The Dremel Stylus has been retired!!!

    • AngryTechnician says :

      You’re right, utter madness! I found it significantly easier to use than the ‘stick’ models, but obviously the market disagreed as there seems to be nothing like it now. Better take good care of mine!

  4. ScottishTech says :

    AT – where did you get your one?

    There’s a couple of places which sell them, but they aren’t likely to be on our Educational “OK” list… And, y’know, God forbid I should buy it myself with my own credit card!!

    Amusingly, this very posting is one of the early hits on Google.

    • AngryTechnician says :

      Mine is personal kit, and was actually a gift from Mrs AT about 18 months ago. I’m not sure where she got it. At the time they were all over, you could even get them in B&Q.

  5. DigitalDon says :

    I have also found out recently that a dremel (300) is also very useful for getting a PCIE x16 card to run in a x4 slot. I used a grinding disc to create a little notch in the card so it would fit in the slot. Works a treat.

  6. SDC says :

    I recently had a user bring me a hard disk which was “no longer working”. It looked rather badly abused, and investigations revealed that the user’s husband had decided it should be possible to repair the hard drive by opening it’s casing … with a Dremel. Needless to say, the drive was completely trashed.

  7. Duncan Mulholland says :

    eBay is our friend. Just purchased one from the states for my own kit.
    No more trunking covered in Claret after a slipped stanley knife.

  8. ScottishTech says :

    Knowing my luck, the spinning disc would see the whole room covered in a fine spray of claret instead.