My Own Personal Printer

Dear Staff,

I think I’ve made it clear by now that I don’t approve of wasteful printing. It’s been school policy since before I worked here that any bulk printing goes to a copier, where the per-page cost is much lower. Stop acting so surprised when I actually enforce it.

Every pound we waste on printing is a pound we don’t spend on educating children. That’s why I’ve been logging all your printing for the last 6 months.

So, if you want to chance your luck with a sneaky 30-copy print?

In full-page colour?

And it’s for personal use, not school work?

Hoping I won’t notice it on the logs?

Be my guest.

But if I have to come and change a cartridge halfway through, start praying for help to whatever god you believe in. YOU’RE GOING TO NEED IT.

Love and kisses,
AngryTechnician

About The Angry Technician

The Angry Technician is an experienced IT professional in the UK education sector. Normally found in various states of annoyance on his blog. All views are those of his imaginary pet dog, Howard.

7 responses to “My Own Personal Printer”

  1. Patrick says :

    What software do you use to log the printing? I’ve been asked to do the same for our company. Using freeware would be preferable though.

  2. ScottishTech says :

    Do you change the carts for staff for reasons of control or for lack of technical ability on their part?

    On a printer related rant..

    Our Powers That Be here were supposed to be embarking on a print strategy but instead pulled out at the last minute so still have to save the money that they were supposed to be saving by joining the strategy. So the new idea is to enforce duplex printing on all models which can do it. So that’s one of my Summer tasks.

    This would be fair enough, but none of the schools/staff appear to have been informed that this is happening. Needless to say my phone shall be unanswered on the first day of term and all Helpdesk calls with the word “print” will be answered with the email address of the people who requested this change.

    • AngryTechnician says :

      Both. My predecessor let them help themselves which led to people hoarding them in advance, and the few times I’ve let someone do it themselves while I’ve been here, they’ve managed to screw it up.

  3. Tony says :

    We use PaperCut for logging as well. Faculties now have to pay, which has caused a few hackles to rise. But oddly enough, the staff copier has become an awful ot busier since.

  4. Wallace says :

    One of my colleagues decided that he would probably get caught printing fifty copies of a six page document on the only colour laser printer we had at the time. So he decided to try doing it on an inkjet printer in his own room which was there for single page print jobs only.

    Idiot.

    (Bond and I have since enjoyed an afternoon of chucking every inkjet printer in a skip!)

    Wallace

  5. ScottishTech says :

    PaperCut Logger just got plonked onto the school’s new printer server – thanks for the heads-up on this one.

    Now I just need to find someone in the school who’s willing to go through the logs (as it’s not me – heh)